生物

Unbalanced Scales of Justice
Unbalanced Scales of Justice
Headshot 1 minus coffee.JPEG

乔纳森·C·豪

 

14 年前,我搬到纽约,原因与许多人一样,去上大学。我从未离开。自从大学以来,我住在五个波罗斯中的三个,并在六个不同的领域工作过。几年后,我就读于卡多佐法学院的法学院,在那里我遇到了我的妻子。

 

在工作中,我代表被指控在布朗克斯家庭法庭受到忽视和虐待的父母。在上法学院之前,我就知道我想成为一名公设辩护人,但直到我亲眼目睹了家庭法院系统,我才知道这是我可以做得最好的地方。很快就可以看到这个系统在运行,就会意识到这个旨在保护我们社会中最弱势群体的系统在很大程度上没有做到这一点,而且实际上常常不必要地使他们受害。

 

在家里我打扰我的妻子,打扰我们的猫,睡前看星际迷航。在封锁期间,我和妻子获得了诱捕/绝育/归还 (TNR) 流程的认证,并着手诱捕、修复、归还并现在管理当地的野猫群。除了我们自己收养的两只,Clara 和 Art Bell,我们还帮助另外两只小猫在这个过程中找到了新家。社区团结起来支持我们的努力是激励我竞选公职的部分原因。

 

作为一个自由主义者,我相信个人。我相信,让个人有更多的权力为自己寻求正义,无论是经济、环境还是其他方面,都会为所有人带来最好的结果。我相信当前的系统旨在以牺牲个人的健康、财富和自由为代价来满足企业捐赠者的需求。

 

我竞选国会议员是因为我相信我可以自下而上解决影响我们地区的问题,而不是自上而下的方式。我相信让我的邻居和纽约同胞有能力寻求正义,过上更自由、更繁荣的生活。我不想告诉任何人如何过自己的生活,更不想在政治上谋生(但现在我在重复自己)。

BIO

Unbalanced Scales of Justice
Unbalanced Scales of Justice
Headshot 1 minus coffee.JPEG

Jonathan C. Howe

 

I moved to New York over 14 years ago for the same reason many did, to go to college. I never left. Since college I have lived in three of the five boros and worked in a half dozen different fields. After a few years I enrolled in law school at Cardozo Law where I met my wife.

 

At work, I represent parents accused of neglect and abuse in Bronx Family court. I knew before law school that I wanted to be a Public Defender, but it wasn’t until I saw the Family Court System firsthand that I knew that it was the place I could do the most good. It doesn’t take much time seeing the system in action to realize that the system intended to protect the most vulnerable in our society both largely fails to do so, and often actually victimizes them needlessly.

 

At home I bother my wife, bother our cats, and watch Star Trek before bed. During lockdown my wife and I became certified in the Trap/Neuter/Return (TNR) process, and proceeded to trap, fix, return, and now manage, the local colony of feral cats. Besides the two we took in ourselves, Clara and Art Bell, we have also helped two other kittens find new homes in the process. The way the community came together to support our efforts is part of what inspired me to run for office.

 

As a Libertarian, I believe in the individual. I believe that allowing individuals more power to seek justice for themselves, be it economic, environmental, or otherwise, leads to the best outcomes for all. I believe the current system is designed to satisfy corporate donors at the expense of health, wealth, and liberty of the individual.

 

I am running for Congress because I believe I can address the issues affecting our district from a bottom up, instead of a top down, way. I believe in giving my neighbors and fellow New Yorkers the power to seek justice and to live freer and more prosperous lives. I have no desire to tell anyone how to live their life, and even less desire to make a career in politics (but now I’m repeating myself).